

Calcutta University Placements 2026: Highest Package, Average Package, Top Companies
- Public/Government University
- Estd. 1857
University of Calcutta Placement Overview 2026
The 2026 placement report for Calcutta University is yet to be released. However, the NIRF Report 2026 has been issued by the University. A total of 3,059 students secured placements during the Calcutta University placements 2025. The median salary for different courses at Calcutta University was between INR 7 LPA and INR 11.89 LPA. The highest number of students were placed from PG 2-year programme which was 2,796. The median package for PG 2-year during Calcutta University placements 2025 stood at INR 11.50 LPA. The highest median package recorded was for UG 5-year which reached INR 11.89 LPA. Some of the top recruiting companies at Calcutta University were TCS, Wipro, Cognizant, Cipla, etc.
(4792 students)
Commonly asked questions On Placement Overview
Calcutta University has achieved good placement numbers over the past few years. For detailed analysis refer to the table below depicting the Calcutta University placement trends:
Course | Total Students (2025) | Students Placed (2025) | Median Package (2025) |
|---|---|---|---|
UG 3-year | 75 | 10 | INR 7 LPA |
UG 4-year | 312 | 142 | INR 11.89 LPA |
UG 5-year | 119 | 78 | INR 8.50 LPA |
PG 2-year | 4786 | 2796 | INR 11.50 LPA |
PG 3-yar | 14 | 10 | INR 11.50 LPA |
PG Integrated (5-year) | 36 | 23 | INR 8 LPA |
NOTE: The aforementioned placement statistics are collated from the NIRF report 2026.
The Calcutta University highest package or the salary details for 2025 drive are yet to be released. However, the median package for the 2025 drive is disclosed in the NIRF report 2026. Take a look at the below table depicting the course-wise median package for the Calcutta University placements 2025:
Course | Median Package (2025) |
|---|---|
UG 3-year | INR 7 LPA |
UG 4-year | INR 11.89 LPA |
UG 5-year | INR 8.50 LPA |
PG 2-year | INR 11.50 LPA |
PG 3-yar | INR 11.50 LPA |
PG Integrated (5-year) | INR 8 LPA |
The University of Calcutta placement record for the past three years for popular courses are showcased below:
Particulars | Placement Statistics (2023) | Placement Statistics (2024) | Placement Statistics (2025) |
|---|---|---|---|
Total Students | 380 (UG 3-year) 289 (UG 4-year) 83 (UG 5-year) 5125 (PG 2-year) 40 (PG 3-year) 37 (PG Integrated 5 year) | 48 (UG 3-year) 237 (UG 4-year) 118 (UG 5-year) 4814 (PG 2-year) 29 (PG 3-year) 38 (PG Integrated 5 year) | 75 (UG 3-year) 312 (UG 4-year) 119 (UG 5-year) 4786 (PG 2-year) 14 (PG 3-year) 36 (PG Integrated 5 year) |
Students Placed | 198 (UG 3-year) 199 (UG 4-year) 67 (UG 5-year) 3985 (PG 2-year) 30 (PG 3-year) 28 (PG Integrated 5 year) | 35 (UG 3-year) 140 (UG 4-year) 75 (UG 5-year) 2808 (PG 2-year) 11 (PG 3-year) 26 (PG Integrated 5 year) | 10 (UG 3-year) 142 (UG 4-year) 78 (UG 5-year) 2796 (PG 2-year) 10 (PG 3-year) 23 (PG Integrated 5 year) |
Median Salary | INR 9.2 LPA (UG 3-year) INR 10 LPA (UG 4-year) INR 8 LPA (UG 5-year) INR 10 LPA (PG 2-year) INR 9.90 LPA (PG 3-year) INR 8.80 LPA (PG Integrated 5 year) | INR 7 LPA (UG 3-year) INR 10 LPA (UG 4-year) INR 8.50 LPA (UG 5-year) INR 11 LPA (PG 2-year) INR 9 LPA (PG 3-year) INR 8 LPA (PG Integrated 5 year) | INR 7 LPA (UG 3-year) INR 11.89 LPA (UG 4-year) INR 8.50 LPA (UG 5-year) INR 11.50 LPA (PG 2-year) INR 11.50 LPA (PG 3-year) INR 8 LPA (PG Integrated 5 year) |
NOTE: This data is taken from the NIRF report 2026.
The separate data for Calcutta University MBA placements has not been disclosed. The NIRF report 2026 includes combined placement statistics for PG (2-year) courses. The table below depicts the exact numbers for detailed insights:
Particulars | Placement Statistics (2023) | Placement Statistics (2024) | Placement Statistics (2025) |
|---|---|---|---|
Total Students | 5125 (PG 2-year) | 4814 (PG 2-year) | 4786 (PG 2-year) |
Students Placed | 3985 (PG 2-year) | 2808 (PG 2-year) | 2796 (PG 2-year) |
Median Salary | INR 10 LPA (PG 2-year) |
INR 11 LPA (PG 2-year)
| INR 11.50 LPA (PG 2-year) |
Calcutta University Placement Report 2026
| Particulars | UG 3-year Placement Statistics (2025) | UG 4-year Placement Statistics (2025) | UG 5-year Placement Statistics (2025) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Students | 75 | 312 | 119 |
| Students Placed | 10 | 142 | 78 |
| Median Package | INR 7 LPA | INR 11.89 LPA | INR 8.50 LPA |
| Students Opted for Higher Studies | 65 | 105 | 25 |
Moreover, the postgraduate placement highlights are presented in the table below:
| Particulars | PG 2-year Placement Statistics (2025) | PG 3-year Placement Statistics (2025) | PG 5-year (integrated) Placement Statistics (2025) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Students | 4,786 | 14 | 36 |
| Students Placed | 2,796 | 10 | 23 |
| Median Package | INR 11.50 LPA | INR 11.50 LPA | INR 8 LPA |
| Students Opted for Higher Studies | 895 | 4 | 10 |
Commonly asked questions On Placement Report
The University is yet to release the 2026 placement data. Check the course-wise total strength and the number of students placed during Calcutta University placements 2025 from the table below:
Particulars | Placement Statistics (2023) | Placement Statistics (2024) | Placement Statistics (2025) |
|---|---|---|---|
Total Students | 380 (UG 3-year) 289 (UG 4-year) 83 (UG 5-year) 5125 (PG 2-year) 40 (PG 3-year) 37 (PG Integrated 5 year) | 48 (UG 3-year) 237 (UG 4-year) 118 (UG 5-year) 4814 (PG 2-year) 29 (PG 3-year) 38 (PG Integrated 5 year) | 75 (UG 3-year) 312 (UG 4-year) 119 (UG 5-year) 4786 (PG 2-year) 14 (PG 3-year) 36 (PG Integrated 5 year) |
Students Placed | 198 (UG 3-year) 199 (UG 4-year) 67 (UG 5-year) 3985 (PG 2-year) 30 (PG 3-year) 28 (PG Integrated 5 year) | 35 (UG 3-year) 140 (UG 4-year) 75 (UG 5-year) 2808 (PG 2-year) 11 (PG 3-year) 26 (PG Integrated 5 year) | 10 (UG 3-year) 142 (UG 4-year) 78 (UG 5-year) 2796 (PG 2-year) 10 (PG 3-year) 23 (PG Integrated 5 year) |
Median Salary | INR 9.2 LPA (UG 3-year) INR 10 LPA (UG 4-year) INR 8 LPA (UG 5-year) INR 10 LPA (PG 2-year) INR 9.90 LPA (PG 3-year) INR 8.80 LPA (PG Integrated 5 year) | INR 7 LPA (UG 3-year) INR 10 LPA (UG 4-year) INR 8.50 LPA (UG 5-year) INR 11 LPA (PG 2-year) INR 9 LPA (PG 3-year) INR 8 LPA (PG Integrated 5 year) | INR 7 LPA (UG 3-year) INR 11.89 LPA (UG 4-year) INR 8.50 LPA (UG 5-year) INR 11.50 LPA (PG 2-year) INR 11.50 LPA (PG 3-year) INR 8 LPA (PG Integrated 5 year) |
NOTE: The aforementioned data is fetched from the NIRF report 2026.
The placement rate for Calcutta University has not been released. However, the total students and the number of students placed has been released. Check the data tabulated below to know more:
Particulars | Placement Statistics (2023) | Placement Statistics (2024) | Placement Statistics (2025) |
|---|---|---|---|
Total Students | 380 (UG 3-year) 289 (UG 4-year) 83 (UG 5-year) 5125 (PG 2-year) 40 (PG 3-year) 37 (PG Integrated 5 year) | 48 (UG 3-year) 237 (UG 4-year) 118 (UG 5-year) 4814 (PG 2-year) 29 (PG 3-year) 38 (PG Integrated 5 year) | 75 (UG 3-year) 312 (UG 4-year) 119 (UG 5-year) 4786 (PG 2-year) 14 (PG 3-year) 36 (PG Integrated 5 year) |
Students Placed | 198 (UG 3-year) 199 (UG 4-year) 67 (UG 5-year) 3985 (PG 2-year) 30 (PG 3-year) 28 (PG Integrated 5 year) | 35 (UG 3-year) 140 (UG 4-year) 75 (UG 5-year) 2808 (PG 2-year) 11 (PG 3-year) 26 (PG Integrated 5 year) | 10 (UG 3-year) 142 (UG 4-year) 78 (UG 5-year) 2796 (PG 2-year) 10 (PG 3-year) 23 (PG Integrated 5 year) |
University of Calcutta is not hard to get for dedicated students. However you must clear the basic eligibility requirements of the course you want to pursue. For more information you may visit the university's website.
Calcutta University Average Package 2026
The Calcutta University average package 2025 is yet to be released. Once out, it will be updated here. Meanwhile, students can have a look at the median package offered during Calcutta University placement in the past three years:
|
Course |
Median Package (2023) |
Median Package (2024) |
Median Package (2025) |
|---|---|---|---|
|
UG 3 year |
INR 9.20 LPA |
INR 7 LPA |
INR 7 LPA |
|
UG 4 year |
INR 10 LPA |
INR 10 LPA |
INR 11.89 LPA |
| UG 5 year |
INR 8 LPA |
INR 8.5 LPA |
INR 8.5 LPA |
| PG 2 year |
INR 10 LPA |
INR 11 LPA |
INR 11.50 LPA |
| PG 3 year |
INR 9.90 LPA |
INR 9 LPA |
INR 11.50 LPA |
| PG 5 year |
INR 8.80 PA |
INR 8 LPA |
INR 8 LPA |
Calcutta University Placements: Top Recruiters
The University has not disclosed the list of companies that visited the campus in recent years. As per the external sources, some of the renowned companies where the alumni are placed are mentioned below:
| Calcutta University Placements: Top Recruiters | |
|---|---|
| TCS | Cognizant |
| Wipro | Genpact |
| Accenture | Capgemini |
| HSBC | Deloitte |
Top Recruiters
Insights on Placements
Based on 57 Student ResponsesInternships and industry projects
Students can work with faculty on research projects
Employment opportunities
Higher in core jobs
Higher studies preferences
Both inside India & outside India
Placement support
Students are expected to reach out to companies themselves
Alumni network
Strong alumni network that help with placement opportunities
Entrepreneurship cell
Very Active and resourceful, college is also involved
Overall feeling of students
Love being in college
Commonly asked questions On Calcutta University Average Placement
The University has not disclosed the names of companies that visited the campus in recent drives. As per the external sources, some of the top-notch companies where the alumni are placed are listed below:
| Calcutta University Placements: Top Recruiters | |
|---|---|
| TCS | Cognizant |
| Wipro | Genpact |
| Accenture | Capgemini |
| HSBC | Deloitte |
Calcutta UniversityCourse placements 2022
| Course | Average salary | Median Salary | Highest Salary |
|---|---|---|---|
| B.Tech. in Jute and Fibre Technology | -/- | INR
9.20 Lakh | -/- |
Explore popular similar colleges
Students who showed interest in Calcutta University - B.Tech also showed interest in
Calcutta UniversityStudents Ratings & Reviews
- Chat with our counselor
- Get your personalised list of colleges & exams matching your preferences
University of Calcutta Placement FAQs
Some of the frequently asked Calcutta Universit placement questions are mentioned below:
The University has not released the 2026 placement report or brochure yet. However, the NIRF report 2026 is out, which includes course-wise placement data for 2025. To download the report, students can visit the official website of the University and click on the NIRF link available on the homepage. The official website encloses the NIRF report for recent academic years. Click on the NIRF report 2026. Download and save it for future reference.
According to external sources, a large share of the University of Calcutta alumni is placed in the Business Development sector with a 30% share. The other top sectors that involve the majority of alumni are Operations and Sales with 24% and 23% shares, respectively. See the below pie chart illustrating the sector-wise distribution of alumni:
Yes, Calcutta University provides BA LLB (hons) courses to the students who are interested in Law studies after their Class 12 exams. It is a five-year integrated course and offered in full-time mode. Interested candidates can apply through official website.
No, Calcutta University has not revealed any news regarding admissions to BA courses this year. Candidates who want to apply for BA courses can find all updates regarding BA admissions on website which is updated periodically.
Calcutta University BA admissions do not restrict candidates based on their choice of subjects in Class 12th.
However, English is generally a mandatory subject in exams conducted by most boards. Thus, it is advised that candidates confirm this by contacting admission desk.
Kolkata University accepts the scores of various entrance examinations for admissions. The university accepts the scores of WBJEE for BTech, CULET UG for BA LLB (Hons), CAT/ MAT/XMAT/JEMAT for MBA, CULET PG for LLM and WBJECA for MCA.
Given below is the details about CU Kolkata fees for different programs:
| Course | Total Tuition Fee | Total Fee |
|---|---|---|
| BA LLB (Hons) | INR 87,150 | INR 87,150 |
| BSc (Hons) | INR 5,280 – INR 7.22 Lakh | INR 4.71 Lakh – INR 11.87 Lakh |
| BA LLB | INR 1.75 Lakh – INR 3.22 Lakh | INR 2.48 Lakh – INR 4.11 Lakh |
| BTech | INR 30,830 – INR 40,500 | INR 37,520 – INR 49,160 |
| MBA | INR 1.9 Lakh – INR 7.64 Lakh | INR 2.46 Lakh – INR 8.3 Lakh |
*This information is sourced from the official website/ sanctioning body and is subject to change.
Candidates who fulfill Calcutta University BSc eligibility criteria will be required to appear in this institute's in-house entrance exam. This entrance exam is conducted every year and scores obtained in this entrance exam is primary factor during selection rounds.
Calcutta University BTech course fees has not been revealed for academic year 2026. Last year, BTech fees at Calcutta University stood at INR 38,075 for four years across every specialisation.
Thus, candidates can assume this year's fees to be around the same amount.
If a candidates is unable to secure any financial assistance through scholarships for BSc fees at Calcutta University, student loans are their only option. BSc students should compare every bank available based on interest rates before applying for a student loan.
No, Calcutta University does not take direct admission in BA courses from any candidate. Admissions to all BA courses are offered based on Calcutta University entrance exam scores.
However, if any seats are left vacant after allottment, candidates might get admission directly based on Class 12 board exam scores.
No, Calcutta University does not offer direct admission. The university relies on merit-based counseling or mandatory entrance exams score for getting admission in Calcutta University.
Candidates must verify the following documents at their allotted institutes at the time of counselling.
- All rank holders – Class 10 admit card/birth certificate for verification of date of birth
- All rank holders – Class 10 Mark sheet
- All rank holders –Class 12 Mark sheet
- WB domiciled candidates - Domicile
- SC/ST/OBC-A/OBC-B rank holders – Respective category certificate.
- PwD rank holders – PwD
- TFW rank holders – Income certificate
No, candidates are not admitted directly in BTech at Kolkata University. This institute follows counselling rounds after WBJEE for allottment of BTech seats. To participate in this counselling, candidates need to appear in the WBJEE.
Candidates seeking admission to any of the course at Calcutta University must first meet the eligibility criteria, appear for the course specific entrance test like CULET PG, CAT, MAT, XMAT, JEMAT, WBJECA etc. Appear for the counselling process and pay the admission fees. For admission to the MBA course, candidates must appear for the GDPI process.
Calcutta University WBJEE cut off 2025 was concluded after the release of the final seat allotment result for admission to the BTech course. As per the Calcutta University cut off 2025, the last round closing rank for the BTech course ranged between 980 and 5256 for the General All India category students. Analysing the last round cutoff data, BTech in Computer Science and Technology turned out to be the most competitive specialisation at Calcutta University.
Hence, candidates seeking admission to Calcutta University's BTech programme must secure a rank of 5256 or below to be eligible for a seat.
Note: This is the required rank for the General AI category; other categories, rounds, quotas, etc, will have different cutoffs.
Calcutta University BTech CSE Cutoffs 2026 for admission to Calcutta University as per the round 3 closing rank for General AI category was 421.
Calcutta University BTech admission does not require candidates to mandatorily appear in WBJEE. A valid score of JEE main is also accepted for granting admission into BTech at University of Calcutta. However, first preference will be given to candidates applying through WBJEE.
The CAT exam is always conducted in November every year so CAT 2026 will be conducted in November this year. Students can click here to know more about the CAT examination.
The application fee for the BA LLB (hons) at Calcutta University is INR 1000 for General Category, OBC, EWS, and INR 500 for SC/ST/ and PWD categories students. The application fee can be paid online through the admission portal. Students are advised to go through the official website.
Calcutta University
Student Forum
Answered 2 weeks ago
Calcutta University Cutoffs are based on the performance of candidates in the entrance examinations. The WBJEE round 3 closing rank 2026 has been declared for the BTech course. Calcutta University BTech cutoffs as per the round 3 closing rank for General All India category ranged between 421 and 240
Y
Contributor-Level 9
Answered 6 months ago
Yes, Calcutta University is a good university for BTech placements. The below are the University of Calcutta UG - 3 years NIRF Placements Data: Overall:
| UG 3 years | 2021-22 | 2022-23 | 2023-24 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median salary | 9.17 LPA | 9.2 LPA | 7 LPA |
| % Students Placed | 60% | 50% | 14% |
| Students placed | 252 | 198 | 35 |
| % Passing Students | 99% | 97% | 19% |
| Students admitted | 422 | 393 | 250 |
| Students opted for higher studies | 165 | 182 | 13 |
| Students graduated | 417 | 380 | 48 |
N
Contributor-Level 10
Answered a year ago
Calcutta university has not disclosed the list of various companies that visited the campus in recent years. As per the external sources, some of the renowned companies where the alumni are placed are mentioned below:
| Calcutta University Placements: Top Recruiters | |
|---|---|
| TCS | Cognizant |
| Wipro | Genpact |
| Accenture | Capgemini |
| HSBC | Deloitte |
J
Contributor-Level 10
Answered a year ago
After completing LLM from University of Calcutta, Faculty of Law, the candidates can find jobs in both public and private sectors. The degree holders can work as legal advisors in government departments on important policy and legislative issues or as government policy analysts, analysing legal issu
M
Contributor-Level 9
Answered a year ago
A concise placements report is not available as of now for BA LLB placed students. However, as per the Calcutta University NIRF report 2023, the median package offered to UG (five-year) students stood at INR 7.84 LPA. Moreover, out of 119 students, 95 were placed.
M
Contributor-Level 9
Content authored by:
Updated on Jul 8, 2026
Calcutta University Notifications
Calcutta UniversityTake a look at Campus
Chemistry Lab
Seed science Technology Lab
Agriculture soil Chemistry Lab
Computer Lab
Calcutta University News & Updates



Calcutta UniversityContact Information
University of Calcutta, 87/1, College Street
Kolkata ( West Bengal)
Useful Links
Know more about Calcutta University
- All About Calcutta University
- Courses 2026
- Fees 2026
- Reviews on Placements, Faculty & Facilities
- Admission 2026 - Cutoffs, Eligibility & Dates
- Cut off & Merit List 2026
- Calcutta University Rankings
- Gallery 2026
- Infrastructure Details & Reviews
- Calcutta University Faculty
- Compare Calcutta University
- Calcutta University Q&A
- Scholarships
- Calcutta University News & Articles
Explore Placement at similar university
Explore Streams at Calcutta University
- Science
- Humanities & Social Sciences
- Engineering
- Accounting & Commerce
- Business & Management Studies
- Law
- Banking, Finance & Insurance
- Mass Communication & Media
- Teaching & Education
- IT & Software
- Medicine & Health Sciences
- Arts ( Fine / Visual / Performing )
- Animation
- Design
- Nursing
- Hospitality & Travel
- Data Science

What is the Calcutta University cutoff trends?